The Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa Launches the AFSA Africa Agro-ecology Awards

  1. Home
  2. »
  3. International Relations
  4. »
  5. The Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa Launches the AFSA Africa Agro-ecology Awards

The Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa announced the inaugural AFSA Africa Agro-ecology Awards, launching a call on 9 August 2021 for submissions from AFSA member networks and affiliates. In the following years, AFSA hopes to broaden the award and make it more accessible to the African public and establish it as the premier location for honouring African movements fighting for food sovereignty and agro-ecology in Africa.

This year, the Africa Agro-ecology Awards will honour the best agro-ecology leaders and initiatives in seven categories. The awards will be presented to exceptional leaders, groups and initiatives that have made a significant impact on scaling up agro-ecology in Africa and advancing food sovereignty by influencing practices, laws, policies, businesses, institutions, and the media.

The seven categories for the AFSA Africa Agro-ecology Award 2021:

  1. Best Local Government in Agro-ecology Award
  2. Best Youth-led Agro-ecology Project Award
  3. Best Women-led Agro-ecology Project Award
  4. Best Agro-ecology Entrepreneurship Award
  5. Best Civil Society Organization for Agro-ecology Award
  6. Best Academic/Agricultural Research Institute for Agro-ecology Award.
  7. Best Journalist in Agro-ecology Reporting Award

AFSA has been in the forefront of the fight for food sovereignty in Africa by promoting Agro-ecology as a solution to a just, resilient, healthy, and sustainable food system that feeds the world while simultaneously fixing the climate and biodiversity crises.

Dr.Million Belay, General Coordinator of AFSA, said, “Our members in 50 African nations, working with 200 million small-scale food producers, have proven that Agro-ecology works and that it is the best solution to a healthy food system and resilient future. The first AFSA Africa Agro-ecology Award intends to spotlight those African heroes and grassroots organizations who have debunked the notion that small-scale farmers and Agro-ecology cannot feed the world.”

AFSA has established stringent evaluation standards and weighing metrics to assess candidates against the three pillars of Agro-ecology as a science, practice, and movement. As a result, the winners in each category will demonstrate how effective agro-ecology initiatives improve the lives and livelihoods of millions of small-scale food producers, consumers, and the environment.

“The struggle for basic food system reform and a rapid transition to a more egalitarian, sustainable, and ecologically friendly farming system has never been more critical,” said Dr. Chris Macoloo, AFSA Chair. “This year will be crucial in defining the future of global food systems, whether it will fall into the trap of destructive industrial food systems or embrace Agro-ecology as the sustainable, healthy, just, and appropriate paradigm for resolving the food and climate crises.”

The call for applications will be open until August 29, 2021, and the winners will be revealed at a virtual ceremony on October 14, 2021.

See the guidelines for eligibility requirements using the link below and send nomination forms and inquiries to


Culled from

Leave a Reply